The deep dive · Private · Read November 1, 2026

Cribl

The plumbing that sits between a company's machine data and its security and monitoring tools. Past $300M in recurring revenue, valued at $3.5B in 2024, and now building its own SIEM.

Cribl, Feb 11, 2026
Valuation
$3.5B at the Series E in Aug 2024, up 40% on the 2022 round. No priced round since.
Raised
Over $600M across all rounds, per Cribl. The last round mixed new money with share sales.
Revenue
$300M+ ARR passed in 2025, up from $200M in Dec 2024. Growth over 40% in its FY26.
Watch
Splunk appeal a jury found willful copyright infringement but awarded $1. Both sides have appealed.
AI
Agent-ready an MCP server ships inside the product, and docs publish llms.txt for agents.
Liquidity
$119M secondary sold inside the 2024 round. Who sold was not disclosed. No staff tender found since.
Hiring
69 → 75 remote listings since Oct 10.
01 · The business

It sells the pipe, not the destination.

Companies send logs, metrics and traces through Cribl Stream and Edge, which trim, reshape and route the data to whatever tools they use. Revenue is recurring: self-managed licenses plus Cribl.Cloud, which passed $130M of ARR growing over 75%. Lake, Search and now Detect let customers keep and analyze data without a costly SIEM.

Cribl, Feb 11, 2026
The moat, in three parts
  1. 1
    The neutral layer in front of every vendor
    It feeds rival vendors' tools alike: late 2025 brought integrations with Microsoft Fabric, Google Security Operations and Amazon Security Hub.
    Cribl press releases, Nov to Dec 2025
  2. 2
    Deep inside the largest companies
    About half the Fortune 100 and 35% of the Fortune 500 are customers; customers spending $500K or more rose over 50%.
    Cribl, Feb 11, 2026
  3. 3
    Cleared to sell to US agencies
    Cribl.Cloud Government won a FedRAMP Moderate authorization in Jan 2026, a slow, costly bar that keeps newer rivals out.
    Cribl, Jan 29, 2026
The competition, by what it is worth
  • Cisco
    $411Blisted, Oct 30 close
  • CrowdStrike
    $256Blisted, Oct 30 close
  • Datadog
    $84.5Blisted, Oct 30 close
  • Elastic
    $10.3Blisted, Oct 30 close
  • Cribl
    $3.50BSeries E, Aug 27

Private values are the last reported round; they can be stale. Listed values are market value. Bars start at zero.

02 · Funding

Every round, and what its terms give away.

Cribl is private, so there is no share price. What its investors paid, and on what terms, is the closest thing to one.

$3.50B
latest valuation, Series E Aug 27
$600M
raised in all
$300M
ARR, as of Jan 1
+40%
growth, as reported
1,000
employees, as reported
Cribl, Feb 11, 2026 (ARR 'surpassed', growth 'more than 40%', 1,000+ staff); total raised 'over $600M' per Aug 2024 release
What investors paid for all of Cribl, round by round
$2.50B$3.50B20222024

Post-money valuations as reported. The line starts at zero. Rounds without a reported valuation are left off.

4 rounds and offers, newest first
  1. Aug 27
    Series E$319M at $3.50B
    Led by GV. About 9% of the company, if all new shares
    $200M new money plus $119M of existing shares sold. CapitalG, GIC, IVP and CRV joined.
    SiliconANGLE, Aug 27, 2024; Cribl release
  2. May 24
    Series D$150M at $2.50B
    Led by Tiger Global Management. About 6% of the company, if all new shares
    Valuation reported by TechCrunch from an unnamed source. Total raised reached $400M.
    TechCrunch, May 24, 2022
  3. Aug 25
    Series C$200M
    Led by Greylock and Redpoint Ventures
    IVP new; Sequoia, CRV, Citi Ventures and CrowdStrike also in. TechCrunch later put the Aug 2021 valuation at $1.5B.
    Cribl blog, Aug 25, 2021
  4. Oct 15
    Series B$35M
    Led by Sequoia Capital
    CRV participated. Total raised reached $46M.
    SiliconANGLE, Oct 15, 2020
Round-terms checks
1 flag · last raise 26 months ago
  • Was the last round a down round?No. The Series E at $3.5B was 40% above the 2022 Series D, which TechCrunch reported at $2.5B.Cribl blog, Aug 27, 2024
    Clear
  • How much of the company did the last round sell?About 9% at the headline ($319M of $3.5B), but only about 6% was new shares ($200M). The rest changed hands.SiliconANGLE, Aug 27, 2024
    Clear
  • How long since the last raise?About 26 months, with no newer Form D on file. Not a warning sign by itself at $300M+ ARR, but the $3.5B mark is now old and may not match today's price.SEC EDGAR, Cribl Form D filings, checked Oct 31, 2026
    Flag
  • Any unusual terms (preference above 1x, ratchets, warrants)?None reported, but terms of private rounds are not public. The 2024 Form D lists $136.6M of equity sold, less than the $200M of new money reported, which is not explained.SEC Form D, filed Aug 28, 2024
    Open
  • Who led: a new outsider or insiders?A new lead, GV, whose partner Michael McBride joined the board. Alphabet's CapitalG and GIC also joined.Cribl, Aug 27, 2024
    Clear
  • Can employees sell shares?$119M of existing shares sold in the 2024 round; reports do not say whether staff could sell. No company tender offer found since.SiliconANGLE, Aug 27, 2024
    Open
  • Layoffs in the last 12 months?None found in news searches. Headcount passed 1,000 in Jan 2026, up from over 700 in Aug 2024.Cribl, Feb 11, 2026; news search Oct 31, 2026
    Clear

Clear: checked, nothing found. Flag: found, with the source. Open: could not be checked.

Going public

No filing reported

03 · Footnote flags

What the record says, and what we think it means.

The fact is the source's. The read, in italics, is ours.

  1. 01
    Watch

    Splunk won its copyright case, for $1, and the fight is on appeal.

    A jury found in April 2024 that Cribl willfully infringed Splunk's copyright. Judge Alsup upheld the $1 verdict on Dec 31, 2025. Cross-appeals (26-1317, 26-1355) were fully briefed by Sept 2026.

    The money risk is small so far. The real stakes are the injunction on how Cribl may use Splunk software to test compatibility, which matters because so many customers route data into Splunk.

    Bloomberg Law, Dec 31, 2025; Federal Circuit docket
  2. 02
    Good

    Past $300M of recurring revenue, with the cloud growing fastest.

    ARR passed $300M in 2025, from $200M in Dec 2024. Cloud ARR is over $130M, up more than 75%. Customers grew over 25%.

    Growth slowed from the triple digits of 2020 to 2023, but 40%+ at this size is still strong. That is IPO-sized revenue.

    Cribl, Feb 11, 2026
  3. 03
    Neutral

    A departing employee's post says ARR passed $400M.

    ARR Club reported on Oct 11, 2026 that a farewell LinkedIn post by a long-time employee said Cribl had passed $400M of ARR.

    Not confirmed by Cribl. If true, it would mean about 33% growth in eight months. Treat as reported until the company says so.

    ARR Club, Oct 11, 2026 (reported)
  4. 04
    Neutral

    The board looks like an IPO board.

    Mike Kourey, who has taken five companies public, joined to chair the audit committee. MongoDB CEO CJ Desai joined in Nov 2025.

    An audit chair with IPO experience is a classic step before going public. It is a signal, not a filing; no IPO has been filed.

    Cribl, Feb 11, 2026; Nov 20, 2025
  5. 05
    Neutral

    Bought CardinalOps, and opened a Tel Aviv office.

    On Jul 14, 2026 Cribl bought CardinalOps, which uses AI to find gaps and broken rules in security detections. Price not disclosed.

    First sizable step from data plumbing into security analytics. Expect security and Israel-based hiring.

    Cribl, Jul 14, 2026
  6. 06
    Neutral

    Bought the AI SOC tech of Radiant Security.

    On Aug 19, 2026 Cribl acquired the technology assets of Radiant Security's AI security operations product, which triages and investigates alerts. An asset deal; terms not disclosed.

    Two security buys in five weeks. Cribl is assembling a full security product rather than building it all in house.

    Cribl, Aug 19, 2026
  7. 07
    Watch

    Now selling a SIEM, against some of its own partners.

    Cribl Detect launched Sept 29, 2026 for Cribl.Cloud customers, claiming a full SIEM at up to 50% less cost than others.

    Bigger prize, bigger risk. Cribl grew as the neutral pipe into Splunk and others; competing with them head on may strain those ties.

    Cribl, Sep 29, 2026
  8. 08
    Good

    Cleared for US federal agencies.

    Cribl.Cloud Government received a FedRAMP Moderate authorization on Jan 29, 2026.

    Opens the US government market. Expect roles needing US citizenship or clearance.

    Cribl, Jan 29, 2026
04 · Who gets paid most

Sales is paid 1% over market. Engineering, 9% under.

Still Remote data, daily since Oct 10
Posted pay against the same level at other remote employers
Compared level by level against 400+ remote employers, then averaged. Number of posted ranges beside each team.
AI and ML listings, Oct 10 to Oct 31
3 → 3about the same
Remote listings, same days
69 → 75+9%

We save every company's roles, pay by team and level, AI share and churn every day, so each month this page can say more. Sparklines use their own scale.

05 · Built for the agentic era?

Can AI agents do business with Cribl?

We checked the agent payment programs, developer docs and site rules an AI assistant would meet.

Our verdict

Built for agents. An MCP server ships in the product.

Still Remote read
LiveAnnounced, not confirmed live
  1. An MCP server agents can call
    Embedded in the Cribl Leader at /api/v1/mcp, using each user's own permissions. Works with Cursor, Claude Code and Codex. A standalone Docker version also exists.
    Cribl docs, checked Oct 31, 2026
    Yes
  2. Its own AI can use other MCP tools
    Cribl AI can connect to outside MCP servers and use their tools in agent conversations.
    Cribl AI docs index, checked Oct 31, 2026
    Yes
  3. Developer docs that AI tools can read
    docs.cribl.io/llms.txt is an index written for AI agents, linking per-product indexes and API references in Markdown.
    checked Oct 31, 2026
    Yes
  4. A guide for AI on the main site
    cribl.io/llms.txt (v2.0, updated Jul 13, 2026) maps which Cribl site to use for which task.
    checked Oct 31, 2026
    Yes
  5. Lets AI crawlers read its site
    robots.txt names no AI bots. It blocks only some blog category pages, resource filters and /copilot-preview for all bots.
    checked Oct 31, 2026
    Yes
  6. Infrastructure for customers' own AI agents
    StreamAI, an AI gateway that routes prompts, caps spend and logs every model call, was announced Sept 29, 2026. Availability due at CriblCon.
    Cribl, Sep 29, 2026
    Announced
05 · Inside the company

Where Cribl puts AI to work.

AI and ML job titles, share of open remote listings
Cribl
4.0%
Every company we track
6.2%
3 of 75 Cribl listings on Oct 31. Scale 0% to 10%.
  1. 1
    Buying AI teams for security
    Its AI detection and alert triage came through two 2026 deals, CardinalOps and Radiant Security's AI SOC assets, rather than only in-house builds.
    Cribl, Aug 19, 2026
  2. 2
    Tests AI models on its own work
    Cribl's SecIT Bench ran 20 models on 30 IT and security investigations and found a 20x spread in cost. That research shapes how StreamAI routes prompts.
    Cribl, Sep 29, 2026
  3. 3
    Still adding people
    Headcount passed 1,000 in Jan 2026, with EMEA and APJ growing fastest. No AI-linked job cuts reported.
    Cribl, Feb 11, 2026
06 · What the hiring says

More listings than on Sep 7, most of them in sales.

Remote listings on its board, dailyAxis starts at zero
Listings as the board shows them, so a title posted in several places counts each time. Team counts are open roles, repeated titles once.
46 of 71
roles are sales
12
engineering roles, the next biggest team
8
countries named in its remote roles, led by United States
+5
new roles in the last 7 days
06 · From its own channel

What Cribl puts on its own channel.

Short videos from Cribl's official YouTube channel, played here. We only use a channel that links cribl.io and carries the company's name.

  • Why partners love working with Cribl
    68 views
  • Introducing White Logus, the World’s First Luxury Wellness Retreat for Telemetry
    94 views
  • Cribl Search Pack for Windows: Dashboards for Windows logs & suspicious activity
    352 views
  • AI agents for incident response in Cribl Search: From Slack alert to rollback
    802 views
  • Why AI troubleshooting agents need a common telemetry data model (OCSF, ECS)
    583 views
  • Why schema-on-read breaks for agentic telemetry — and how LLM parsers reshape data architecture
    566 views
  • Agentic telemetry explained: 10x your investigations with AI
    688 views
  • Cribl Guard: Clint Sharp on AI PII detection in telemetry data
    885 views
From Cribl on YouTube. These are the company's own marketing, not a look inside.
07 · Private scenario builder

What has to be true for $3.5 billion to hold?

The starting revenue is Cribl's own reported figure. A way to think, not a forecast, and not investment advice.

ARR Cribl said it passed in 2025, announced Feb 11, 2026. A $400M figure has been reported from an employee post but not confirmed.
Reported: +40%.
Competition
Economy
At the Series E price, about $12 per $1.
$
Worth in two years, in your world
$7.06B
+102% vs the $3.50B Series E
$588M revenue, growing +40% a year after competition and the economy
Series E $3.50B
$0$8.40B
Up round territory

At 12x, Cribl needs $292 million of revenue to be worth $3.5 billion. Your world gets there with $588 million, so the next round likely prices above the last.

Your equity, two years out
$201,600

$100,000 of equity valued at the $3.50B Series E price would be worth about $201,600 on paper in this world, before dilution from new rounds, taxes and vesting. Private shares only turn into cash at a sale, an IPO or a tender offer.

A way to think, not a forecast, and not investment advice.

Cribl, Feb 11, 2026; Aug 27, 2024
08 · Where it looks headed

The signals, and which way they push.

  1. Tailwind
    AI makes more machine data, and more queries.

    Cribl pitches itself as the telemetry layer for the AI era; cloud ARR grew over 75% and big-spending customers over 50%.

  2. Tailwind
    Customers want cheaper SIEMs.

    Detect is priced on infrastructure, not data volume, and claims up to 50% lower cost; two security deals in 2026 back it.

  3. Headwind
    Big platforms want the same pipe.

    Cribl now competes with the SIEM vendors it feeds, and Splunk, owned by Cisco, is still in court with it.

  4. Tailwind
    A new market in US government.

    FedRAMP Moderate in Jan 2026 lets federal agencies buy Cribl.Cloud Government.

09 · Bold predictions

Where Cribl ends up, if we had to bet.

Our calls, not facts. Each one is tied to something that already happened, so you can judge the reasoning.

  1. 1

    Cribl lists on a US exchange before 2031.

    Likely 72%IPO

    It has $300M+ of ARR, 40%+ growth and an audit chair who has taken five companies public. No filing has been reported yet, and timing depends on markets.

    Cribl, Feb 11, 2026
  2. 2

    A big security or cloud company buys Cribl outright.

    Long shot 16%M&A

    Alphabet's GV and CapitalG own a stake, which makes Google a natural suitor. But Cribl is itself the buyer in 2026, and its pitch depends on staying neutral between vendors.

    Cribl, Aug 2024 and Jul to Aug 2026
  3. 3

    Security products, led by Detect, bring in a third of Cribl's revenue.

    Coin flip 50%Products

    Detect, CardinalOps and the Radiant assets all landed in 2026. Displacing an existing SIEM is slow, and customers may keep Cribl as only the pipe.

    Cribl, Sep 29, 2026
  4. 4

    Routing and logging company AI traffic becomes a core Cribl business.

    Coin flip 50%AI

    StreamAI and the Claude Compliance API feed point that way, and the embedded MCP server makes Cribl easy for agents to use. StreamAI is announced, not yet proven with customers.

    Cribl, Sep 29, 2026; May 21, 2026
  5. 5

    The Splunk case ends without large damages against Cribl.

    Likely 72%Competition

    The jury awarded $1 and the trial judge kept it. The appeal could still reshape the injunction or the fair use ruling.

    Bloomberg Law, Dec 31, 2025

Read by the Still Remote research agent on November 1, 2026 from the sources linked on this page. Facts and scenarios only, not investment advice.