Engine
The Denver business travel platform once called Hotel Engine. Profitable, valued at $2.1B in 2024, and now selling its booking pipes to rivals and to AI agents.
Engine AI Information page- Valuation
- $2.1B Series C, Sep 2024, up from $1.3B in Dec 2021. No newer price reported.
- Raised
- About $220M Roughly $80M primary and $140M secondary, per a March 2026 report.
- Growth
- Over 70% 2026 growth against the same period a year earlier, per the company. No revenue figure published. Profitable, per the CEO.
- Watch
- Beyond hotels A charge card (Mar 2026), a travel agency buy (Jul 2026) and a Navan API deal (Sep 2026) in six months.
- AI
- Agents can book Engine markets an MCP server so ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini can book trips under company policy.
- Liquidity
- Big secondary About $140M of the money raised was secondary. Who sold, and whether staff could, was not disclosed.
- Hiring
- 58 → 64 remote listings since Oct 10.
Free to use; paid by travel suppliers and card swipes.
Businesses book hotels, flights, cars, group blocks and meeting spaces on Engine at no charge. Engine earns through travel partners, commissions and card interchange. Its Omni API lets other platforms sell its hotel inventory for a revenue share. No revenue split is published.
This Week in Fintech, Mar 10, 2026; engine.com/platform/agents- 1A large base of small and mid-size business travelers40,000+ active businesses and more than 2 million travelers as of Oct 2026, and 42 million room nights booked all-time, per the company.engine.com/llms.txt, checked Nov 3, 2026
- 2Its hotel pipes run inside other companies' productsNavan is integrating Engine's Omni API; Engine says Trimble and MyRiva also build on it.Engine blog, Sep 8, 2026
- 3Profitable on little primary capitalFortune reported $56M of primary funding before 2024, less than half of it spent. The company has said it is profitable since the pandemic.Fortune, Sep 17, 2024
- Navan$6.80Blisted, Oct 30 close
- Perk (formerly TravelPerk)$2.70Bprivate, Jan 29
- Engine$2.10BSeries C, Sep 17
Private values are the last reported round; they can be stale. Listed values are market value. Bars start at zero.
Every round, and what its terms give away.
Engine is private, so there is no share price. What its investors paid, and on what terms, is the closest thing to one.
- $2.10B
- latest valuation, Series C Sep 17
- $220M
- raised in all
- +70%
- growth, as reported
- 1,000
- employees, as reported
Profitable, per the CEO in March 2026. Growth is over 70% year on year, per the company, with no revenue base given.
This Week in Fintech, Mar 2026; employees (1,000+) from Fortune, Aug 2025Post-money valuations as reported. The line starts at zero. Rounds without a reported valuation are left off.
- Sep 17Series C$140M at $2.10BLed by Permira. About 7% of the company, if all new sharesAnnounced with the rebrand from Hotel Engine to Engine. A 2026 report puts about $140M of all funding raised as secondary.SiliconANGLE, Sep 17, 2024
- Dec 2Series B$65M at $1.30BLed by Telescope Partners. About 5% of the company, if all new sharesBlackstone joined as a new investor.TechCrunch, Dec 2, 2021
- Sep 1Series A$16M at $150MLed by Telescope Partners. About 11% of the company, if all new sharesFirst outside money after four years of bootstrapping. Month per Engine; exact day not published.TechCrunch, Dec 2021; Engine AI Information page
- Down round or flat round?Up round. $2.1B in Sep 2024 against $1.3B in Dec 2021, about a 62% step-up, during a weak market for travel startups.SiliconANGLE, Sep 17, 2024Clear
- How much of the company the last round soldAbout 6.7% ($140M of $2.1B post-money). If most of it was secondary, as a 2026 report suggests, little new stock was issued.SiliconANGLE, Sep 2024; This Week in Fintech, Mar 2026Clear
- Time since the last raiseAbout 26 months (Sep 2024). Long, but Engine says it is profitable, so a gap is less of a warning sign than at a cash-burning startup.SiliconANGLE, Sep 17, 2024Clear
- Structured or unusual termsNo liquidation preference, ratchet or warrant terms reported. Coverage disagrees on the mix: Fortune called it new investment, a 2026 report implies it was mostly secondary. No SEC Form D was reviewed.Fortune, Sep 2024; This Week in Fintech, Mar 2026Open
- New outside lead or insiders only?New lead: Permira, a private equity firm, had not invested before. Its managing director then joined the board and in 2025 became Engine's CFO.Fortune, Aug 5, 2025Clear
- Employee liquidityAbout $140M of Engine's funding was secondary, so some holders have sold. Whether employees could take part, and at what price, was not disclosed. No staff tender offer found.This Week in Fintech, Mar 10, 2026Open
- Layoffs in the last 12 monthsSearched news for Engine and Hotel Engine layoffs: none reported. Headcount went from about 700 at the start of 2025 to more than 1,000 by Aug 2025.Fortune, Aug 2025; news search Nov 3, 2026Clear
Clear: checked, nothing found. Flag: found, with the source. Open: could not be checked.
No filing reported. CFO said in Aug 2025 an IPO is not actively being considered.
What the record says, and what we think it means.
The fact is the source's. The read, in italics, is ours.
- 01Neutral
Its lead investor's dealmaker is now the CFO.
Fortune, Aug 5, 2025Alex Melamud, a Permira managing director who joined Engine's board after the 2024 round, became CFO in Aug 2025 and left Permira. On an IPO he said it is "not something we're thinking about actively."
A private equity CFO usually means sharper finance discipline and a path to an exit. His words suggest no IPO soon.
- 02Watch
Most of the money raised may have gone to sellers, not the company.
This Week in Fintech, Mar 10, 2026A March 2026 report puts total funding at $220M: about $80M primary and $140M secondary. That matches the size of the 2024 round. Fortune in 2024 described the round as new investment.
If the 2024 round was mostly secondary, early holders cashed out and the company issued little new stock. Ask how employee equity was treated.
- 03Good
It launched a corporate card.
This Week in Fintech, Mar 10, 2026; engine.com/llms.txtEngine X launched Mar 10, 2026: no annual fee, up to 10% back on travel booked through Engine. Over 700 companies joined the waitlist. Cards are issued by Fifth Third Bank.
Interchange adds a second income stream and puts Engine up against Navan, Ramp and Amex on spend, not just booking.
- 04Neutral
It bought a traditional travel agency.
Engine blog, Jul 31, 2026On Jul 31, 2026 Engine acquired Options Travel, a 30-year-old travel management company, and its group-flights product TempoTrip. Price not disclosed.
Engine wants to sell a booking tool to agencies, and bought one to learn from the inside. Agency work is more service-heavy than Engine's self-serve model.
- 05Good
A listed rival now runs on Engine's hotel API.
Engine blog, Sep 8, 2026On Sep 8, 2026 Engine announced that Navan will integrate its Omni hotel booking API, with group bookings and stay changes to follow. Financial terms not disclosed.
Selling to a competitor is a vote of confidence in Engine's hotel supply. It also ties some revenue to Navan's choices.
- 06Good
An AI agent fully handles half its support chats.
Salesforce, Apr 15, 2026Salesforce said in Apr 2026 that Engine's agent Eva resolves 50% of chat cases with no human, across more than 800,000 support cases a year, and cut handle time 15%.
Support is a big cost line for a travel company. Expect fewer new support hires per customer, not necessarily cuts.
- 07Good
It added about 300 people in 2025.
Fortune, Aug 5, 2025Engine had about 700 employees at the start of 2025 and more than 1,000 by August. Job posts still say 1,000+.
Fast hiring for a profitable company. Remote US roles dominate the current job board.
Marketing is paid 25% over market. Sales, 3% over.
We save every company's roles, pay by team and level, AI share and churn every day, so each month this page can say more. Sparklines use their own scale.
Can AI agents do business with Engine?
We checked the agent payment programs, developer docs and site rules an AI assistant would meet.
Built for agents on paper. An MCP server, open robots rules and llms.txt, but no public MCP docs yet.
Still Remote read- YesAn MCP server for AI agentsEngine's agents page offers an Engine MCP server for ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini or any MCP client, booking under the traveler's profile and company policy. The URL is issued per account; no public setup docs found.Engine for agents page, checked Nov 3, 2026
- YesA booking API other platforms can useOmni offers hotel search and booking over gRPC and HTTP/JSON, with an OpenAPI spec to download. Free to integrate, revenue share per booking.Omni docs via engine.com/llms.txt
- MixedDocs that AI tools can readengine.com/llms.txt is detailed and points to an AI Information page and markdown copies of key pages. omni.engine.com/llms.txt returns 404.checked Nov 3, 2026
- YesLets AI crawlers read its siterobots.txt allows every crawler and names no AI bots. Same on omni.engine.com.checked Nov 3, 2026
- Not foundAgent payment protocols (Google AP2, OpenAI/Stripe ACP, Visa or Mastercard agent programs)No announcement found. Agent bookings are charged to the Engine X card or direct bill, per Engine's agents page.Searched Nov 3, 2026
- MixedIs the MCP server visible outside its own page?Engine's Oct 2026 blog ranking business travel MCP servers does not list Engine's own. We found no third-party directory listing either.Engine blog, updated Oct 20, 2026
Where Engine puts AI to work.
- 1AI writes almost all of its codeEngine's VP, AI Platform posting states that 95.2% of merged production code is AI-written. The role builds an internal LLM gateway, agent framework and evaluation tools.Engine job posting, checked Nov 3, 2026
- 2An AI agent on the support deskEva, built on Salesforce Agentforce in 12 days, takes half of chat cases end to end. Sales reps use Slackbot for live call research, cutting prep time 40%.Salesforce, Apr 15, 2026
More listings than on Sep 7, led by sales.
What has to be true for $2.1 billion to hold?
Engine does not publish revenue, so the starting number is your assumption, not ours. A way to think, not a forecast, and not investment advice.
At 25x, Engine needs $84 million of revenue to be worth $2.1 billion. Your world gets there with $243 million, so the next round likely prices above the last.
$100,000 of equity valued at the $2.10B Series C price would be worth about $289,000 on paper in this world, before dilution from new rounds, taxes and vesting. Private shares only turn into cash at a sale, an IPO or a tender offer.
A way to think, not a forecast, and not investment advice.
SiliconANGLE, Sep 2024; Fortune, Aug 2025The signals, and which way they push.
- TailwindGrowing fast and profitable.
Over 70% growth in 2026, per the company, profitable per the CEO, and headcount up about 40% in 2025.
- TailwindBecoming infrastructure.
Navan, Trimble and MyRiva build on the Omni API, and agents can book through MCP.
- HeadwindBetter-funded rivals.
Navan is now public and Perk raised $200M at $2.7B in Jan 2025, both chasing the same mid-size companies.
- HeadwindNo fresh price for equity.
The last valuation is from Sep 2024 and no tender offer is reported, so staff equity has no recent mark.
Where Engine ends up, if we had to bet.
Our calls, not facts. Each one is tied to something that already happened, so you can judge the reasoning.
- 1
Engine lists on a US exchange by 2031.
Coin flip 50%IPOIt is profitable, past 1,000 staff, and has a CFO from private equity. But the CFO said in 2025 an IPO is not being actively considered, and no filing has been reported.
Fortune, Aug 2025 - 2
Engine is sold to a private equity firm or a larger travel or payments company instead of listing.
Coin flip 50%M&APermira, a buyout firm, led the last round and its former partner now runs finance. Navan already depends on Engine's API, which makes Engine a natural target.
Engine blog, Sep 2026; Fortune, Aug 2025 - 3
Card and payments revenue becomes a major line next to booking commissions.
Likely 72%ProductsEngine X launched in 2026 with up to 10% back on Engine travel to pull spend onto the card. The model already counts interchange as a revenue source.
This Week in Fintech, Mar 2026 - 4
A large share of Engine bookings are made by AI agents rather than people on its website.
Likely 72%AIEngine pitches itself as the booking and policy layer for agents and says it need not be the interface. Its support desk is already half automated.
Engine agents page; Salesforce, Apr 2026 - 5
Engine earns more from supplying hotels to other platforms than from its own app.
Coin flip 50%CompetitionOmni is free to integrate with a revenue share, and Navan signed on in 2026. That only happens if more large platforms follow.
Engine blog, Sep 8, 2026
Read by the Still Remote research agent on November 3, 2026 from the sources linked on this page. Facts and scenarios only, not investment advice.