Runway
A New York AI lab that began with video tools for filmmakers and now sells world models to studios, marketers and robot makers. Last valued at a reported $5.3 billion.
Runway, Feb 10, 2026; TechCrunch, Feb 10, 2026- Valuation
- $5.3B reported for the Feb 2026 Series E, about 1.8x the reported $3B a year earlier.
- Raised
- ~$858M across six announced rounds from 2020 to 2026, led most recently by General Atlantic.
- Revenue
- $200M ARR per the co-CEO in Sept 2026, double the April figure.
- Liquidity
- None found no company tender offer for staff has been announced or reported.
- AI
- Is the product it trains its own video and world models and also resells other labs' models.
- Watch
- Copyright suit a defendant in the artists' case over Stable Diffusion; next hearing Feb 2027.
- Hiring
- 46 → 44 remote listings since Oct 10.
Credits and seats, sold to creators and big companies.
Runway sells three products: Runway Creative (a browser workspace for video, image and audio), Runway Dev (an API, now on one credit pool with the app) and Runway Robotics. Enterprises buy credit commitments, and its largest customers increasingly license its models directly. It does not publish a revenue split.
Runway, Sep 18, 2026; PYMNTS, Sep 8, 2026- 1Its own frontier modelsGen-4.5 video and the GWM-1 world model family are trained in house; Gen-4.5 was the first video model run on NVIDIA's Rubin platform.Runway, Jan 5, 2026
- 2Customers that grow once insideThe CRO says net revenue retention is over 300% and one Fortune 20 customer grew its use 17x this year.Runway CRO post, Aug 20, 2026
- 3Hollywood tiesLionsgate took an equity stake in June 2026 and is co-developing new IP with Runway; Paramount and AMC Networks are also customers.Runway, Jun 11, 2026
- Alphabet$3412Blisted, Oct 30 close
- Runway$5.30BSeries E, Feb 10
- Luma AI$4.00Bprivate, Nov 19
Private values are the last reported round; they can be stale. Listed values are market value. Bars start at zero.
Every round, and what its terms give away.
Runway is private, so there is no share price. What its investors paid, and on what terms, is the closest thing to one.
- $5.30B
- latest valuation, Series E Feb 10
- $858M
- raised in all
- $200M
- ARR, as of Sep 8
- 140
- employees, as reported
Not disclosed. The CRO says the business more than doubled in 2026.
PYMNTS, Sep 8, 2026 (co-CEO LinkedIn post); staff from TechCrunch, Feb 10, 2026; raised = sum of announced roundsPost-money valuations as reported. The line starts at zero. Rounds without a reported valuation are left off.
- Feb 10Series E$315M at $5.30BLed by General Atlantic. About 6% of the company, if all new sharesValuation reported by an unnamed source. NVIDIA, Adobe Ventures, AMD Ventures, Fidelity and others joined.Runway, Feb 10, 2026; TechCrunch, Feb 10, 2026
- Apr 3Series D$308M at $3.00BLed by General Atlantic. About 10% of the company, if all new sharesCompany said over $300M; Reuters said $308M at over $3B per people familiar. SoftBank, NVIDIA, Baillie Gifford joined.Runway, Apr 3, 2025; Reuters via The Star, Apr 3, 2025
- Jun 29Series C extension$141MLed by Not namedGoogle, NVIDIA and Salesforce Ventures participated.Runway, Jun 29, 2023
- Dec 5
- Dec 15
- Dec 16
- Down or flat round?No. The reported $5.3B Series E was about 1.8x the reported $3B Series D. Both figures come from unnamed sources, not the company.TechCrunch, Feb 10, 2026Clear
- How much the last round sold$315M at a reported $5.3B: about 6% of the company.TechCrunch, Feb 10, 2026Clear
- Time since the last raiseAlmost nine months since Feb 2026, and the company has since committed $100M to the UK, $40M to Japan and $30M to Paris. No sign of a cash squeeze.Runway, Jun 1, 2026Clear
- Unusual terms (preferences, ratchets, warrants)?Not disclosed for any round, and no press report of structured terms was found.Runway, Feb 10, 2026Open
- Who ledGeneral Atlantic led both the Series D and E, joined by new outside money (AllianceBernstein, Mirae Asset, Premji Invest). A repeat lead is a vote of confidence, though not a fresh outside price.Runway, Feb 10, 2026Clear
- Can staff sell shares?No company tender offer has been announced or reported. Ask about secondary sales in any offer talk.Runway, Feb 10, 2026Open
- Layoffs in the last 12 months?None found. It is opening offices in London, Paris and Tokyo and hiring; 47 of 48 posted roles are remote-eligible.Runway Ashby board, checked Nov 3, 2026Clear
Clear: checked, nothing found. Flag: found, with the source. Open: could not be checked.
No filing reported
What the record says, and what we think it means.
The fact is the source's. The read, in italics, is ours.
- 01Good
Revenue doubled in five months.
PYMNTS, Sep 8, 2026 (co-CEO LinkedIn post)Co-CEO Anastasis Germanidis said ARR passed $200M in Sept 2026, double April. The CRO cites net revenue retention over 300%.
ARR is the company's own measure, not audited revenue. Still, growth this fast at this size is rare.
- 02Watch
A defendant in the first big artists' copyright case.
ChatGPT Is Eating the World, Feb 3, 2026Artists suing Stability AI, Midjourney and DeviantArt added Runway, saying it helped build Stable Diffusion. The summary judgment hearing moved to Feb 17, 2027.
Allegations only and years old. A loss could set costs for training on images, but no trial date is set.
- 03Neutral
Two CEOs since Feb 2026.
Runway, Feb 26, 2026Co-founder Anastasis Germanidis became co-CEO with Cristobal Valenzuela; new CTO, COO, Chief People and Chief Creative officers were named.
The company says this formalizes how it already ran. Shared CEO roles can blur who decides; worth asking about in interviews.
- 04Good
Lionsgate became a shareholder.
Runway, Jun 11, 2026In June 2026 Lionsgate took an equity interest and launched a joint program to make new shows from its IP.
A studio putting money in, not just licensing, signals trust from the industry most wary of AI video.
- 05Neutral
First acquisition in Europe.
Runway, Sep 8, 2026The team from Paris lab Kinetix, about 10 people working on 3D human motion, joined in Sept 2026 for robotics research. Terms not disclosed.
A small acqui-hire that shows where research money is going: robotics, not only media.
- 06Good
Big overseas bets.
Runway, Jun 1, 2026Commitments of $100M to the UK over 18 months, $40M to Japan and $30M to Paris, all announced May to July 2026.
More non-US hiring. Commitments are plans, not spending already made.
- 07Watch
It also sells rivals' models.
Runway, May 27, 2026Runway's workspace and MCP offer Kling, Seedance, GPT Image and Nano Banana Pro next to Gen-4.5.
Good for customers, but it suggests Runway's own models are not always the best choice, which could squeeze margins.
- 08Neutral
It now runs on runway.com.
DomainInvesting, Jul 22, 2026Runway AI bought the runway.com domain (reported July 2026); runwayml.com now redirects there. The domain was previously used by another company.
Directories and old links may still mix it up with an unrelated planning software startup once at that address.
Engineering is paid 46% over market. Customer, 21% under.
We save every company's roles, pay by team and level, AI share and churn every day, so each month this page can say more. Sparklines use their own scale.
Can AI agents do business with Runway?
We checked the agent payment programs, developer docs and site rules an AI assistant would meet.
Built for agents. Two MCP servers, coding-agent plugins, AI marketplace listings and llms.txt everywhere.
Still Remote read- YesAn MCP server agents can callRunway MCP generates images and video inside Claude, ChatGPT (app directory), Grok, Cursor and Replit.checked Nov 3, 2026
- YesCoding agents can build with its APIA hosted Runway Dev MCP (Sept 2026) and plugins for Claude Code, Codex and Cursor (Nov 2, 2026) let agents pick models, set routers and debug.Runway, Nov 2, 2026
- YesSold through AI lab marketplacesListed in the OpenAI Marketplace (Sept 29) and Claude Marketplace (Oct 20, 2026), where enterprises can spend existing commitments on it.Runway, Oct 20, 2026
- YesDocs that AI tools can readllms.txt on runway.com with notes for agents, on dev.runway.com, and on the API docs at docs.dev.runwayml.com.checked Nov 3, 2026
- YesLets AI crawlers read its siterobots.txt allows all bots; only a gated-download API path is blocked. No AI bots are named.checked Nov 3, 2026
Where Runway puts AI to work.
- 1Claude runs its agentRunway Agent, which turns a brief into a plan, picks a model per shot and assembles the video, uses Claude for its reasoning.Runway, Oct 20, 2026
- 2A router picks the modelIts Model Router sends each request to the best model for cost, speed or quality, ranked on Runway's own quality, price and speed data.Runway, Sep 2, 2026
- 3Research is the core jobThe Series E funds pre-training of next-generation world models; it is a founding member of NVIDIA's Cosmos Coalition for open world models.Runway, Jun 1, 2026
More listings than on Sep 7, led by design.
What has to be true for $5.3 billion to hold?
The starting revenue is Runway's own reported figure. A way to think, not a forecast, and not investment advice.
At 27x, Runway needs $196 million of revenue to be worth $5.3 billion. Your world gets there with $392 million, so the next round likely prices above the last.
$100,000 of equity valued at the $5.30B Series E price would be worth about $199,698 on paper in this world, before dilution from new rounds, taxes and vesting. Private shares only turn into cash at a sale, an IPO or a tender offer.
A way to think, not a forecast, and not investment advice.
TechCrunch, Feb 10, 2026; PYMNTS, Sep 8, 2026 (co-CEO LinkedIn post)The signals, and which way they push.
- TailwindEnterprise is pulling growth.
Amazon, Microsoft, Allstate, Adobe and Robinhood drive recent growth; NRR is over 300%.
- TailwindDistribution through AI labs.
Listings in the OpenAI and Claude marketplaces put Runway inside existing enterprise AI budgets.
- HeadwindGiants and well-funded rivals.
Google, OpenAI and World Labs push video and world models; Luma raised $900M at over $4B.
- HeadwindCopyright risk is unresolved.
The artists' suit naming Runway is still open, with summary judgment set for Feb 2027.
Where Runway ends up, if we had to bet.
Our calls, not facts. Each one is tied to something that already happened, so you can judge the reasoning.
- 1
Runway is a listed company by 2031.
Coin flip 50%IPORevenue doubled in five months to $200M ARR and new C-level hires suggest a company scaling up. But no CFO hire, tender or filing has been reported.
PYMNTS, Sep 8, 2026 (co-CEO LinkedIn post) - 2
A big tech or chip company buys Runway.
Long shot 16%M&ANVIDIA, Adobe and AMD are already investors and partners, which makes them natural buyers. Nothing about a sale has been reported.
Runway, Feb 10, 2026 - 3
Robotics and simulation become a real second business, not just research.
Coin flip 50%ProductsIt bought the Kinetix team for robotics and sells a robotics toolkit next to its creative suite. Media and marketing still drive the revenue it reports.
Runway, Sep 8, 2026 - 4
Runway's value rests more on its platform and enterprise reach than on owning the single best video model.
Likely 72%AIIt already offers rival models in its workspace and routes requests among them. Competition from Google and OpenAI keeps model leads short.
Runway, Sep 2, 2026 - 5
Training on images and video without licences gets costlier, through rulings or deals.
Coin flip 50%RegulationRunway is a defendant in the Andersen case and has studio deals like Lionsgate. The case's summary judgment hearing is not until 2027.
ChatGPT Is Eating the World, Feb 3, 2026
Read by the Still Remote research agent on November 3, 2026 from the sources linked on this page. Facts and scenarios only, not investment advice.